Articles - ENGL 1A / 1AS - Kristin Smith - CCSF Library at City College of San Francisco

Recommended Newspapers

Here are some recommended Newspapers & Magazines

New York Times - Live news, investigations, opinion, photos and video by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world.

Atlantic - The Atlantic covers news, politics, culture, technology, health, and more, through its articles, podcasts, videos, and flagship magazine.

New Yorker - Reporting, Profiles, breaking news, cultural coverage, podcasts, videos, and cartoons from The New Yorker.

(Please note: An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources)

Recommended Databases

CCSF Library provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases. Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available. Below is a list databases that are useful for multi-disciplinary research.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
"Education Research Complete covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a variety of subject areas including economics, history, sociology, and political science.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text research coverage of sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics on a variety of topic including media, business and society, and on a number of industries. Data is sourced from businesses, government departments, market research concerns and associations. Data is available in a variety of formats such as ppt, xls, png, and infographics.

Search Strategies

Digital searching can work well when you combine your search words with "Boolean" connectors.

Boolean Connector	What does it do?
AND	narrows the results of a search, though without this operator, the AND is usually implied. This searches only for items containing both search terms. Example: health disparities AND urban
OR	expands or broadens the results of a search. This searches for either term, thus widening the possibilities. This is helpful when searching using synonyms. ("OR is more.") Example search string: genetically modified OR transgenic OR GMO
NOT	excludes specific terms that may be clouding your result set with irrelevant results not related to your topic. This is helpful when trying to remove some results. Example: nutrition NOT diet

Other strategies:

Identify key concepts. Include the useful or relevant keywords in your search, as well as synonyms, rather than a full question.
Use "Filters" to limit your source type, time period, and location.
Need "scholarly" articles? Use the "Peer-Reviewed Journals" filter.

ENGL 1A / 1AS - Kristin Smith

Assistance

OneSearch

Recommended Newspapers

Recommended Databases

Search Strategies