Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Art and Art History: Articles

Follow these links to investigate art and art history resources at the City College of San Francisco Library. Come in to the Library for personal instruction from a reference librarian.

Chat with a Librarian

Get help from a librarian 24/7

Type your question/message below to start! 

Remote Access to Databases & E-Books

An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.

Finding Articles

The CCSF Libraries provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases.  Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the A-Z Databases page for a full list of databases available.

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, magazine, newspaper and journal articles, streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search. OneSearch can be accessed from the Library website!

Recommended Databases

Search for articles in databases and refine your results to find articles related to art and art history.

At the Public Library

San Francisco Public Library offers access to several excellent databases on art and art history.

  • Art Full Text, a database with full text, scholarly articles exclusively about the arts.
  • Oxford Art Online is the most updated version of the art history multi-volume standard reference source: The Dictionary of Art. We also have it in book form in the reference section at the Rosenberg Library - look for it on the 4th floor.

You will need a San Francisco Public Library card and your pin number for the card to access these databases. Go to SFPL's list of Art & Music Databases and explore these amazing resources!

Art Magazines in Print

Aperture magazine coverArt in America magazine coverAmerican Craft magazine cover

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Frida Kahlo Way, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541