Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get help from a librarian 24/7
Type your question/message below to start!
Finding Web Information
Searching for information on the web efficiently requires developing a search strategy. Is the information sought very specific? If so, a search engine is the best search tool to use with keywords to describe the exact information need. Unsure or looking for more general information on a topic? Start with a subject directory and search broad topics. Many specialized databases and search tools are also available on the web.
Recommended Web Sources
A commercial site with links to museums and major galleries.
Art History Resources on the Web
An academic site with links to museums and galleries. Serves as a subject directory, a comprehensive art history site with thousands of live links.
Getty Research Portal
Digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.
A wiki for the arts, media and humanities. Links out to many primary sources that have been digitized by museums and universities.
Timeline of Art History - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Interactive timeline pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Met’s collection
The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco - Explore the Art
You'll be able to search the Museum's collection by object type, century, country and location in the Museum.
The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, California
Click on "Collection" to explore the Museum's database of images. Browse or search for work in their collection.
The Louvre, Paris, France
To see images of work in the Museum's collection, click on "Collection & Louvre Palace."
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City
Click on "Collection" under the "Art" tab to see thousands of works in the Museum's collection.
The State Museum of the Hermitage, St. Petersburg, Russia
Click on "Explore The Hermitage" to see images from the Museum's collection, or create your own virtual collection online!
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Frida Kahlo Way, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541