Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get help from a librarian 24/7
Type your question/message below to start!
Any words, ideas or images that you do not create yourself must be properly credited to avoid plagiarism.
Citing information sources acknowledges the origin of your information and it provides support and credibility to your work by showing evidence of your research.
A citation is a reference to the source of an idea, information or image. It typically includes enough identifying information, such as the author, title, date, publication format, etc.
MLA Citation Style Guides - 8th edition
It's not just text that needs to be cited when you're writing a paper or creating a presentation! Images need to be cited, too! Follow this handout to cite images.
CCSF Library Citing Sources Page
This resource provides links to a number of citation styles including MLA and APA.
MLA Style (8th edition) Citation Handout
This handout produced by CCSF Librarians provides examples of materials and formats listed in MLA style.
MLA Style In-Text Citations
This handout produced by CCSF Librarians provides examples of in-text citations listed in MLA style.
Purdue OWL - MLA Formatting and Style Guide
This free resource produced at Purdue University provides formatting and style information based on MLA eighth edition. This site provides examples of various types of formats in MLA style.
This is the subscription edition that allows you to save projects and use other features such as outlining, note-taking, annotating, sharing of documents, and linking to a Google Doc. CCSF students must create an account for access.
Writing Skils - Help from Purdue OWL
What is an annotated bibliography, and how do I write one?
Tips on writing thesis statements, and examples of a few good ones.
Overcoming Writer's Block
Stuck on where to start? Too much information or too little? Read the symptoms and the cures, as prescribed by Purdue's Online Writing Lab.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009
Publication Date: 2016
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Frida Kahlo Way, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541