Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get help from a librarian 24/7
Type your question/message below to start!
Any words, ideas or images that you do not create yourself must be properly credited to avoid plagiarism.
Citing information sources acknowledges the origin of your information and it provides support and credibility to your work by showing evidence of your research.
A citation is a reference to the source of an idea, information or image. It typically includes enough identifying information, such as the author, title, date, publication format, etc.
More about citing sources.
MLA Style Guides
CCSF Library Citing Sources page
This resource provides links to a number of citation styles including APA.
MLA Style Guide for a Works Cited list
This handout produces by CCSF Librarians provides examples of materials and formats listed in MLA style.
MLA Style In-Text Citations
This handout produces by CCSF Librarians provides examples of in-text citations listed in MLA style.
Purdue OWL - MLA Formatting & Style Guide
"This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page."--from Purdue OWL
NoodleTools is a web-based tool geared to helping students complete their research projects. NoodleTools offers citation, note-taking, outlining, annotation, and writing tools. It also allows for collaboration between peers and for students to easily share projects with instructors.
Citing in Chicago Style
From the Introduction to Notes section of the Purdue OWL Formatting & Style Guide:
"In the NB [notes & bibliography] system, you should include a note (endnote or footnote) each time you use a source, whether through a direct quote, paraphrase, or summary. Footnotes will be added at the end of the page on which the source is referenced, and endnotes will be compiled at the end of each chapter or at the end of the entire document."
MLA Style Manual
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Location: Rosenberg / 5th Floor Circulating; Rosenberg, Alice Statler, Chinatown/NB, Downtown, John Adams and Mission Reference
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Frida Kahlo Way, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541