MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of AmericaThe Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Library Research Skills Workshops
Learning to do library and web-based information research is an important part of information competency. These abilities are increasingly important in our networked, information-rich society and can be applied in college work, as well as in one’s personal and professional life. The library offers several Library Research Skills workshops that can help students meet the information competency learning outcomes required by their courses and as part of the CCSF Information Competency graduation requirement.
Any words, ideas or images that you do not create yourself must be properly credited to avoid plagiarism. Citing information sources acknowledges the origin of your information and it provides support and credibility to your work by showing evidence of your research.A citation is a reference to the source of an idea, information or image. It typically includes enough identifying information, such as the author, title, date, publication format, etc.
"This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page."--from Purdue OWL
NoodleTools is a web-based tool geared to helping students complete their research projects. NoodleTools offers citation, note-taking, outlining, annotation, and writing tools. It also allows for collaboration between peers and for students to easily share projects with instructors.