CCSF Library: Psychology: Statistics

Statistics

Description

Statistics are the result from raw data that have been interpreted and analyzed. They are often helpful when you're looking for a number or percentage to support an argument in your assignments, research papers, or presentations. A statistic will answer "how much" or "how many." Statistics are usually presented in a table, chart, or other visualization.

Icon from Pixel Perfect

What do they contain?

Usually an average, a percentage, or a frequency as a result of data analysis
- Examples:
  - The average unemployment rate in the United States in March 2022
  - The percentage of car accidents that occur during a snowstorm
  - The frequency of accidents involving teenage drivers

How often are these sources published?

Current statistics might be a year or older and not necessarily published on an annual basis. This is due to how often the information is collected and the time it takes to analyze and process numbers.

Found in:

Websites for
- government agencies (e.g. U.S. Census Bureau),
- private organizations or non-profits (e.g. the American Cancer Society),
- academic institutions, or
- the private sector (for example, marketing firms, pollsters, or trade organizations).
Articles in journals, newspapers, and magazines

Note: some statistics are free and publicly available, however, many require access through library subscription databases.

Library Databases

The links below are a good starting points to finding statistics. Looking for statistics among charts and embedded within journal articles can be useful. Search a keyword or two one your topic (for example, "obesity".) Then, combine your keyword search with a subject search ("SU Subject Term" ) for statistics.

Statista
Provides statistics on a variety of topic including media, business and society, and on a number of industries. Data is sourced from businesses, government departments, market research concerns and associations. Data is available in a variety of formats such as ppt, xls, png, and infographics.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Providing information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods; offering full text coverage for nearly 560 journals.

Other Statistical Resources

The United States Census Bureau provides social and economic data and statistics. Census data can be useful for population and demographic data on people, households, and socioeconomic status (education, occupation, income) of individuals and households. Learn how to find and analyze Census data with online videos from The Census Academy.

American Housing Survey
Conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau and provides comprehensive surveys of U.S. Housing conditions. Includes national and metropolitan data on residential vacancies, number of rooms, rents, mobile homes, median value of home and occupancy demographics.
Census Bureau
The major statistics site for statistics on the United States of America. The site contains all kinds of statistics covering a wide range of subjects, from population to the economy to health issues. Browse by Topic or use the Search function to look for what you want.
Data.Census.gov
The Census collects and disseminates data about business and economy, employment, health, housing, income, poverty, and population. Statistics provided come from several censuses and surveys about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas (territories).
Quick Facts - US Census Bureau
Provides quick and easy access to statistics about on current population, business, geography and other data for all states and counties and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more. Options for viewing the data in charts, maps or tables.

The U.S. federal government collects and disseminates statistical data across a broad range of subject areas. The following key statistical agencies provide information about the United States as a whole.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides international, national, regional and industry economic and performance statistics including US Gross Domestic Product (GDP).
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides data on the number of crimes committed in the United States, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and surveys of persons and institutions involved in the criminal justice system.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics, part of the U.S. Department of Labor, compiles information and statistics on employment, productivity, inflation, consumer spending, wages, earnings aspects of the U.S. economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics publishes detailed statistics on the movement of people and cargo within the U.S. and across its borders. Includes highway statistics, air travel, maritime transportation, etc.
National Center for Education Statistics
A major federal source for data and statistics about education at all levels in the U.S. Publishes reports such as The Digest of Education Statistics, which includes international comparisons of students, and The Condition of Education, which reports the progress of American education.

The State of California produces various statistics on many subjects and topic areas for California.

California Open Data
Provides data from state agencies. Recommended as a starting site for locating data for California.
California Department of Education
Statistics collected from California schools.
California Employment Development Department
Statistics on California's labor force, industries, occupations, employment projections, wages, etc.
California Quick Facts
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Provides frequently requested data items from various Census Bureau programs, includes state, county, or city data.
Data USA: California
Statistics on economy, health & safety, diversity, education, housing and living. Searchable by individual county and city.

The international organizations and sources listed below provide comprehensive statistics on many topics and for many countries.

CIA: World Fact Book
An annual publication from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, with basic background information and statistics on the history, government, economy, etc., on over 200 countries.
Eurostat
Provides a wide range of statistical information from the European Union and its member nations.
UNData
Provides free access to statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations. Statistics are available for agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, climate change, refugees, etc.
World Bank Open Data
Provides free and open access data related to the economic well-being of countries and their populations. Included indicators of macroeconomic performance, economic inequality, the labor market, health and education, government spending, etc.
CountryWatch
Provides geographical, political, economic, corporate and environmental information for every country in the world.

Psychology

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Public Opinion