CCSF Library: Engineering and Technology: Articles

Recommended Databases

Databases are searchable containers of the source types listed above: books, magazines, journals, and (but not webpages, which you search on the open web). Databases are owned by a few different companies, and the library pays for access to make relevant sources available for your research. The sources in the databases are rarely available for free on the open web.

When doing research in Engineering and Technology, we recommend the following options:

Vocational Studies Complete (Ebsco)
"Vocational Studies Complete contains full-text journals and a selection of full-text books applicable to two-year college programs. Key subjects include biotechnology, computer and data processing, cosmetology, electrical technology, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, paralegal studies, robotics, travel and tourism, and more."
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)
Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Ebscohost
Search more than 28 multi-disciplinary databases all at once. Includes literary criticism.

By default, the limit to full-text articles is selected. If you wish to maximize your search results to include articles for which there is only a citation or a citation with an accompanying abstract, you may uncheck this limit.

Advanced search mode. This keyword search option allows you to specify words or terms in your search. Enter the words or phrases in the boxes provided.
Gale Powersearch
Search more than 19 multi-disciplinary databases all at once.

Advanced search mode. This keyword search option allows you to specify words or terms in your search.

Search Strategies

Digital searching can work well when you combine your search words with "Boolean" connectors.

Boolean Connector	What does it do?
AND	narrows the results of a search, though without this operator, the AND is usually implied. This searches only for items containing both search terms. Example: health disparities AND urban
OR	expands or broadens the results of a search. This searches for either term, thus widening the possibilities. This is helpful when searching using synonyms. ("OR is more.") Example search string: genetically modified OR transgenic OR GMO
NOT	excludes specific terms that may be clouding your result set with irrelevant results not related to your topic. This is helpful when trying to remove some results. Example: nutrition NOT diet

Other strategies:

Identify key concepts. Include the useful or relevant keywords in your search, as well as synonyms, rather than a full question.
Use "Filters" to limit your source type, time period, and location.
Need "scholarly" articles? Use the "Peer-Reviewed Journals" filter.

Engineering and Technology

OneSearch

Assistance

Recommended Databases

Search Strategies