CCSF Library: Labor Studies: Articles

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, articles (from magazines, newspapers, and journals), streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search. OneSearch cross searches most CCSF Library Databases at the same time. OneSearch can be accessed from the Library website! Want to see how it works? Check out our video demo.

Academic journals on labor history

Journals can be scholarly, which means they are academic in nature and may be peer-reviewed. Peer-reviewed articles go through a rigorous publishing process: they are written by an academic, submitted to the journal, and then circulated to experts in the field for checking before being published.

Labor: Studies in Working Class History of the Americas
This is the official peer reviewed journal for the Labor and Working-Class History Association (LAWCHA)
Labor History
This is a peer reviewed journal that covers historical studies on labor worldwide, examining issues such as capitalism, labor rights, unionization, collective bargaining and occupational safety.

Assistance

Email reference is available Monday through Friday during the Fall and Spring semesters. We try to respond within two days.

Chat with the library 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to meet with a librarian for in-depth help with your research.

Article Sources

Description

Magazines, journals, and newspapers, are types of "periodicals" - as in, they are published periodically throughout the year. There are many different intended audiences.
- Magazines are generally intended for a broader, public audience.
  - Examples: Scientific American, Vogue, and The Atlantic.
- Journals are often intended for a scholarly audience (scholars, academics, researchers, etc.) Many articles in these journals go through a rigorous publishing process called peer-review: they are written by an academic, submitted to the journal, and then circulated to experts in the field for checking before being published.
  - Examples: New England Journal of Medicine, The William and Mary Quarterly.
- Newspapers are usually written for a broader, public audience. They share the news of the day.
  - Examples: The New York Times, USA Today, The Guardian, the San Francisco Chronicle.

What do they contain?

Articles

How often are these sources published?

Magazines - usually monthly & quarterly (seasonally)
Journals - less frequently; can be monthly, but more likely quarterly
Newspapers - usually daily

Found in:

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches most CCSF Library databases. Some resources are excluded. Learn more about searching in OneSearch.

Recommended Databases

Databases are searchable containers of the source types listed above: books, magazines, journals, and (but not webpages, which you search on the open web). Databases are owned by a few different companies, and the library pays for access to make relevant sources available for your research. The sources in the databases are rarely available for free on the open web.

When doing research in Labor and Community Studies, we recommend the following options:

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life with Full Text covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers companies and industries as well as management and economics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available. 1980-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Provides access to full-text journals, reference books and conference papers, including those from the International Political Science Association.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics on a variety of topic including media, business and society, and on a number of industries. Data is sourced from businesses, government departments, market research concerns and associations. Data is available in a variety of formats such as ppt, xls, png, and infographics.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals covering both “current thought on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field." Content is updated daily.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access to 140 full-text scholarly journals and magazines for novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers.

Search Strategies

Digital searching can work well when you combine your search words with "Boolean" connectors.

Boolean Connector	What does it do?
AND	narrows the results of a search, though without this operator, the AND is usually implied. This searches only for items containing both search terms. Example: health disparities AND urban
OR	expands or broadens the results of a search. This searches for either term, thus widening the possibilities. This is helpful when searching using synonyms. ("OR is more.") Example search string: genetically modified OR transgenic OR GMO
NOT	excludes specific terms that may be clouding your result set with irrelevant results not related to your topic. This is helpful when trying to remove some results. Example: nutrition NOT diet

Other strategies:

Identify key concepts. Include the useful or relevant keywords in your search, as well as synonyms, rather than a full question.
Use "Filters" to limit your source type, time period, and location.
Need "scholarly" articles? Use the "Peer-Reviewed Journals" filter.