CCSF Library: Registered Nursing: Articles

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, articles (from magazines, newspapers, and journals), streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search. OneSearch cross searches most CCSF Library Databases at the same time. OneSearch can be accessed from the Library website! Want to see how it works? Check out our video demo.

Health Science Article Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Good source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Consumer Health
Coverage on range of public health subjects, from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Provided by over 190 publishers, over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips. Includes the New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, and more.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy

Examine virtual 3D dissections and interactive research. Delve deep into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore models. Experience guided interactive lessons aligned with course curriculum. Use self-assessments to ensure concept comprehension. Pilot subscription through June 2026.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Providing nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
"All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum."
PubMed
Contains citations and abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid 1960's. Abstracts and ability to filter for free full-text articles.

Free online databases

Medline Plus

MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Their mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free in both English and Spanish.

Merck Manual: Prodessional Version
For medical professionals and students. Includes case studies, 3D models, clinical calculators, how to videos, and much more. Contains more advanted content and features than the Consumer Version.

Merck Manual: Consumer Version

Easily understood content for the general public. Includes thuosands of topics, numerous photos and animations and common medical tests.

Trip Medical Database

An online database that will search for high-quality research evidence. A free version is available as well as a premium one (Pro).

Search Strategies

Digital searching can work well when you combine your search words with "Boolean" connectors.

Boolean Connector	What does it do?
AND	narrows the results of a search. Without this connector, the AND may automatically be assumed by the search. This searches only for items containing all terms connected by AND. Example: health AND disparities AND urban
OR	expands or broadens the results of a search. This searches for either term. This is helpful when searching using synonyms. ("OR is more" and will likely return MORE items.) Example search string: genetically modified OR transgenic OR GMO
NOT	excludes specific terms that may be clouding your result set with irrelevant results not related to your topic. This is helpful when trying to remove some results. Example: nutrition NOT diet

Other strategies:

Identify key concepts.
Include the useful or relevant keywords in your search, as well as synonyms, rather than a full question.
Use "Filters" to limit your source type, time period, and location.
Need "scholarly" articles? Use the "Peer-Reviewed Journals" filter.

Registered Nursing

Key Journals for Registered Nursing

What about articles behind a paywall?

Assistance

OneSearch

Health Science Article Databases

Free online databases

Search Strategies