Family Law for the Paralegal: concepts and applications by Mary E. WilsonThis text reflects emerging trends in American family patterns. With a focus on preparation, it's written so that readers understand not only family law, but also the role a paralegal plays in a family law practice. Each chapter includes a wealth of cases, exhibits, practical applications and tips as well as end-of-chapter assignments.
Call Number: KF505 .W555 2009
California Family Law for Paralegals by Marshall W. WallerCalifornia Family Law for Paralegals is the only textbook for paralegals that focuses specifically on California family law. In its fifth edition, this straightforward textbook continues to provide California paralegal students with a practical framework for examining the full range of family law issues under California law. Among the characteristics that make this text the perfect choice for teaching California family law: A practical, straightforward approach designed to teach the basics to paralegal students. A focus on the California Family Code, integrating statutory law and judicial interpretation into a cohesive general discussion of family law and its various aspects. Examples of all the key Judicial Council forms used in the practice of family law in California Unlike other California-specific books, this book was written specifically as a teaching tool and offers a format that helps students learn, including Chapter Overviews and Summaries, Exercises, Key Terms, and a Glossary. Updated and completely current, The Fifth Edition includes: Revision of the text to reflect changes in the law, with new cases and statutes Completely updated forms Advice on how technology can make family law practice more effective Completely updated Instructor’s Manual A new, streamlined organization with shorter, more teachable chapters The only text of its kind, California Family Law for Paralegals offers comprehensive coverage—in a readily accessible format—of all the key topics and developments in this ever evolving area of the law.
Immigration Law for Paralegals by Maria Isabel Casablanca; Gloria Roa BodinImmigration Law for Paralegals is an indispensable and practical guide on U.S. immigration, citizenship and visa procedures for instructing and training students or anyone interested in a career as an immigration paralegal or legal assistant.
This fourth edition updates and expands the third, including coverage of Provisional Unlawful Presence Waiver and DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals). Contents of Immigration Law for Paralegals include: interviewing, gathering information, case management and document preparation techniques; analysis of temporary and permanent employment visas; analysis of family-based petitions, political asylum and naturalization; as well as samples of completed applications, a glossary of terms and useful appendices.
Each visa category is set forth in a clear and concise manner, with real-life and hypothetical situations at the end of each chapter, allowing students to visualize actual problems and issues that arise when processing a case. Further, in responding to the hypothetical situations, students will look to the United States immigration statutes, rules and regulations and precedent and administrative policies to resolve issues. Additionally, each section contains a completed sample application, definition of legal terms, and exercises modeled after tasks paralegals may encounter on the job, including the preparation of relative petitions (Form I-130) and the adjustment of a status package (Forms I-485, G-325A, I-131, I-765, I-864A, and G-28). In keeping with the concise format of each chapter, excerpts from Federal, AAO, and BIA decisions will be cited or footnoted where relevant.
The Glossary and Appendices include Immigration Law resources; USCIS Local, Regional and Service Center addresses; questions and answers for the naturalization exam; blank USCIS forms; Credential Evaluation sample request forms and a list of agencies; sample USCIS color photograph specifications, sample medical form (I-688); and IRS Individual Tax ID Number Request (SS-4).
The fourth edition includes a CD with fillable PDF forms.
Call Number: KF4819.85 .C375 2015 & on Reserve
Publication Date: 2015-08-26
The Employer's Legal Handbook by Fred S. SteingoldAll the laws employers need to know Employment laws change often. Staying on top of them is essential to running an efficient, fair workplace--and heading off expensive lawsuits. Use this comprehensive guide to find answers to workplace questions, quickly and easily. The Employer's Legal Handbook covers all the employment law issues you need to know about, including: applications, interviews and hiring must-have personnel policies wage and hour laws employee discipline and performance reviews health care and other employee benefits employee taxes and payroll family and medical leave employee privacy illegal harassment and discrimination terminations downsizing and layoffs The 12th edition provides updated 50-state legal information and explains the latest developments in employment law, including health care reform.
Call Number: KF3455 .S737 2015
Forbidden Citizens: Chinese exclusion and the U.S. Congress : a legislative history by Martin B. Gold"Highly recommended. Lower-division undergraduates though faculty." -- CHOICE " L]andmark volume on the subject of exclusionary policies against Chinese and Chinese Americans ... a valuable teaching tool ... an exemplary subject reference." -- Library Journal Named an Honor Book by the Asian and Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA), and a Gold Winner of the Benjamin Franklin Award. A whole class of people, forbidden from ever becoming citizens . . . forbidden from even entering the country-their rights torn up and trampled on, left with no political redress. This was the United States of America from 1882 through 1943-if you had the misfortune to be Chinese. The United States Congress banned all Chinese from becoming U.S. citizens from 1882 through 1943, and stopped most Chinese from even entering the country starting in 1882. Forbidden Citizens recounts this long and shameful legislative history. Congress passed restrictive legislation between 1879 and 1904. The most notorious was the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882, described as "one of the most vulgar forms of barbarism," by Rep. John Kasson (R-IA) in 1882. These laws were targeted not only at immigration, they banned citizenship, even for legal immigrants who had arrived before the gate was closed in 1882. Barred from becoming voters, the Chinese had no political recourse against repeated discrimination. Because their appearance and lifestyle were so different, it was easy to tyrannize the Chinese. Insisting that the Chinese could not assimilate into American culture, lawmakers actively blocked them from doing so. Democrats and Republicans alike found the Chinese easy prey. For the first time, this book assembles the complete legislative history of Congress's Chinese exclusion. "Our nation has the greatest ideals, standing as that 'city upon a hill' for the world over to look toward with hope. Yet we have not always been as welcoming as we have proclaimed. Forbidden Citizens by Martin Gold tells the story of the exclusion of a specific group, the Chinese people, for racial reasons that were expressed in the most shocking terms. It is thorough, thoughtful, and highly relevant today. This work presents the best scholarship in the most accessible manner." -- Frank H. Wu, Chancellor & Dean, University of California Hastings College of the Law "Through engaging narrative, Forbidden Citizens expertly tells a story unfamiliar to most Americans, one that left a permanent scar upon the psyche of Chinese Americans and changed our nation forever. Martin Gold's thorough and pioneering research into decades of Congressional history brings to life the politics of Chinese exclusion in a way no one has." -- Judy Chu, United States Representative (D-CA) "Forbidden Citizens is a moving account of a regrettable part of American history. Marty Gold has done us all a service by bringing this story to light so that our past mistakes are never repeated." -- Scott Brown, United States Senator (R-MA) "An important piece of scholarship, which vividly depicts the intensity of anti-Chinese and anti-Asian feeling that was widespread even among our intellectual and political elite only a century ago." -- Stephen Hsu, Professor of Physics, University of Oregon For Complete Table of Contents, see ForbiddenCitizens.com
Call Number: KF4845 .G65 2012
Essentials of Business Law and the Legal Environment by Richard A. Mann; Barry S. RobertsExtremely reader friendly, ESSENTIALS OF BUSINESS LAW AND THE LEGAL ENVIRONMENT, 12e uses a nontechnical presentation to help you understand the dynamics of today's legal environment for business. Covering a broad variety of key subjects and emphasizing ethical decision making, the text presents all business law topics required for success on the CPA exam. Cases are carefully summarized and integrated in order to present both recent legal issues and landmark court decisions while minimizing legal jargon. The 12th Edition includes new "Going Global" features that highlight the international aspects of legal issues, more than 30 recent cases, updated coverage of limited liability companies and suretyship, amendments to UCC Articles, SEC rules on social media, recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and much more.
Call Number: Reserve shelf: BSL 1
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Business Law [Barron's] by Robert W. EmersonTitles in Barron's Business Review series are widely used as classroom supplements to college textbooks and often serve as a main textbook in business brush-up programs. Business Law focuses on the importance of legal theory in the everyday business world, explaining such subjects as tort responsibility, government regulations, contracts, environmental law, product liability, consumer protection, and international law, among many other topics. Also discussed in detail are the legal aspects of partnerships, franchises, and corporations, as well as special topics that include business crimes, property as a legal concept, intellectual property, and similar pertinent topics. A study aid labeled Key Terms appears at the beginning of each chapter, and You Should Remember summaries are strategically interspersed throughout the text.
Call Number: KF889.85 .E46 2015
Essentials of Business Law and the Legal Environment by Richard A. Mann; Barry S. RobertsESSENTIALS OF BUSINESS LAW AND THE LEGAL ENVIRONMENT, 11TH EDITION helps you gain a complete understanding of today's business law and its environment with a straightforward, inviting, non-technical approach. Cases are carefully summarized and integrated throughout the book to present recent legal issues and significant landmark court decisions. You'll find coverage of today's most important legal subjects and ethical issues required for success on today's CPA exam.