Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home
Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, articles (from magazines, newspapers, and journals), streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search. OneSearch cross searches most CCSF Library Databases at the same time. OneSearch can be accessed from the Library website! Want to see how it works? Check out our video demo.
The library has many class items on "Course Reserve" for a short checkout period (in support of homework completion). They are available on a first come, first served basis. Use the OneSearch "Course Reserves" tab to see if the library has your textbook.
Email reference is available Monday through Friday during the Fall and Spring semesters. We try to respond within two days.
Chat with the library 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to meet with a librarian for in-depth help with your research.
Films on Demand is an online library of streaming videos, covering a wide range of topics. CCSF Library's subscription includes the general academic and nursing collections. There are approximately 15,000 films.
You may want to create a personal user account with Infobase (the company that owns Films on Demand). Some benefits of creating an account are:
To create an account:
click "Your Profile" in the upper right corner of the screen in Films on Demand. Then,Note: This is a private account you make directly with Infobase, and as such, this may give them permission to track your behavior.
There are a few ways to find videos in Films on Demand.
Examples:
Note: government statistics are free and publicly available, however, many other kinds of statistics require access through library subscription databases.
The databases below are a good starting point to find articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals. Looking for statistics embedded within these articles can be helpful. Search a keyword or two for your topic. For example, "obesity." Then combine your keyword search with a subject search ("SU Subject Term" ) for statistics.
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
Individuals representing the fingerprint, academic, and scientific communities create a sourcebook for friction ridge examiners, that is, a single source of researched information regarding the subject. This sourcebook would provide educational, training, and research information for the international scientific community.
Analyzes how police interviews are constructed and used to investigate and prosecute crimes. Focuses on the discourses of police interviewing, Examines leading debates, approaches, and topics in contemporary police interview research. Among other topics, the book explores the sociolegal, psychological, and discursive framework of popular police interview techniques.
Contains practical advice for deciding on whether you are ready for the job and getting it and succeeding at it if you are. Will help the already-promoted supervisor successfully meet the challenges of this complex but vital position.
How the attorney-client relationship favors the privileged in criminal court--and denies justice to the poor and to working-class people of color. Draws needed attention to the injustices that are perpetuated by the attorney-client relationship in today's criminal courts, and describes the reforms needed to correct them.
Tells the stories of the forensic scientists who struggle to deliver unbiased science while under intense pressure from adversarial lawyers, escalating standards of evidence, and critical public scrutiny. Brings to life the daily challenges these scientists face, from the painstaking screening and testing of evidence to making communal decisions about writing up the lab report, all while worrying about attorneys asking them uninformed questions in court.
Sheds light on the range of factors that may influence the outcome of the interrogation of a suspect, which ones make it more likely that a person will confess, and which may also inadvertently lead to false confessions.
Explores their implications for the relationship between society and the police, and suggests that a knowledge of these changes is imperative to understanding trends in contemporary policing as well as the direction policing needs to take.
Examines research and analysis of the dramatic rise of incarceration rates and its affects, and recommends changes in sentencing policy, prison policy, and social policy to reduce the nation's reliance on incarceration. The report also identifies important research questions that must be answered to provide a firmer basis for policy. The study assesses the evidence and its implications for public policy to inform an extensive and thoughtful public debate about and reconsideration of policies.
Exposes the financial, political, personal, and professional pressures that threaten judicial ethics and independence. Calls for reforms to protect judicial independence and for vigilance to ensure justice for all.
This book will get you started with digital forensics and then follow on to preparing an investigation plan and preparing a toolkit for investigation. Explore new and promising forensic processes and tools based on 'disruptive technology' that offer experienced and budding practitioners the means to regain control of their caseloads. Has a range of case studies and simulations will allow you to apply the knowledge of the theory gained to real-life situations.