Skip to Main Content
CCSF Library logo Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

ASAM 8 - Filipino American Community

Ethnic Studies introduction to experiences, histories, and contributions of Filipina/o Americans, past and present.

Recommended Databases

Credo Reference

Credo Reference offers background information on topics from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference/encyclopedia titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. 1980 -

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  
Full-text articles from leading journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary and includes full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Updated daily. 1975 -

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
America: History & Life with Full Text covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

Diversity Studies (Gale)
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications, 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 460,000 photos, maps & flags. 1975-

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

 

Search Strategies

Overlap icon (from Krishansky)Digital searching can work well when you combine your search words with "Boolean" connectors.

Boolean Connector What does it do?
AND
  • narrows the results of a search, though without this operator, the AND is usually implied.
  • This searches only for items containing both search terms.
  • Example: health disparities AND urban
OR
  • expands or broadens the results of a search. This searches for either term, thus widening the possibilities.
  • This is helpful when searching using synonyms. ("OR is more.")
  • Example search string: genetically modified OR transgenic OR GMO
NOT
  • excludes specific terms that may be clouding your result set with irrelevant results not related to your topic.
  • This is helpful when trying to remove some results.
  • Example: nutrition NOT diet

"Filter my results" section with "Peer-reviewed Journals" checkedOther strategies:

  • Identify key concepts. Include the useful or relevant keywords in your search, as well as synonyms, rather than a full question.
  • Use "Filters" to limit your source type, time period, and location.
  • Need "scholarly" articles? Use the "Peer-Reviewed Journals" filter.

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Frida Kahlo Way, San Francisco, CA 94112 | 415-452-5541

Staff Intranet