CCSF Library: Psychology: Books/eBooks

Does the library have textbooks?

The library has many class items on "Course Reserve" for a short checkout period (in support of homework completion). They are available on a first come, first served basis. Use the OneSearch "Course Reserves" tab to see if the library has your textbook.

Course Reserves
Search to see if the library has your textbooks and other required texts.

Book icon In the CCSF Library buildings, books are organized by call number according to the Library of Congress classification system. This system groups items by subject and locates similar items on the shelf together. Below are some potential ranges in which you can find books related to your discipline.

Subjects and Call Number Ranges
Subject	Call Number Range
Psychology	BF 1 - BF 990
Psychiatry	RC 321 - RC 571

Assistance

Email reference is available Monday through Friday during the Fall and Spring semesters. We try to respond within two days.

Chat with the library 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to meet with a librarian for in-depth help with your research.

Books of Interest

From the Abyss of Loneliness to the Bliss of Solitude

eBook Collections

The CCSF community has access to many ebooks and evideos via our subscriptions. Want to learn more about using and finding ebooks for research? We have a video showing how to do just that.

O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
eBooks & eVideos on technology, digital media, math and science, engineering and business.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary library of high-quality e-books.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Small searchable and downloadable collection of electronic books on a variety of subjects. To enable Text Only Mode for screen readers, please follow the advice offered by ProQuest.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
An online collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Small searchable and downloadable collection of electronic books on a variety of subjects.

Book/eBook Sources

Description

Books are full length sources that can be on a topic by one or more authors, or anthologies, which contain several chapters/sections written by different authors that are often compiled by an editor.

What do they contain?

Chapters, sections, essays

How often are these sources published?

Once, annually, or every few years

Found in:

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches most CCSF Library databases. Some resources are excluded. Learn more about searching in OneSearch.

Finding Books

Searching for library resources goes better when you:

enter words for topics (keywords), authors, or titles, rather than questions.
use dropdown menus & checkboxes (limiters/facets) to zone in on exactly what kind of thing you want.

Searching for books - differences
How to Find Ebooks	How to Find Print Books
To find ebooks: use the "Books and Media" tab on the Search the Library box. After running the search on the word(s) you entered, On the left side of the screen find the Filter My Results options--Check "Available Online" under "Availability" and "Books" under "Resource Type."	To find print books: use the "Books and Media" tab on the Search the Library box. After running the search on the word(s) you entered, On the left side of the screen find the Filter My Results options--Check "Available on Campus" under "Availability" and "Books" under "Resource Type."