Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF HomeMost of the City College Archives are located in Rosenberg Library Room 335. Some are located in Rosenberg 334B, and most of the bound volumes for the Guardsman are located upstairs in Room 517.
Prior to 1970 City College was part of the San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD). While we hold some materials from this period, many other materials pertinent to City College are held in the SFUSD archives at the San Francisco Public Library. These materials from 1854-2005 (bulk 1874-1978), are held in the San Francisco History Center, Main Library, Collection number SFH 3.
The City College Archives contain college newspapers, newsletters, catalogs, schedules, sabbatical reports, and a wide range of materials reflecting the cultural and academic life of City College. Unlike most library materials, the archives are not generally cataloged as individual items. Archives are by their nature collections, and so they are briefly described as such.
It is important to note that we do not hold any student records, employee records, or business records for the college or district, and we do not hold facilities records or working blue prints for all college buildings.
Our collections reflect departments, offices or agencies of City College. While we do not usually collect from organizations outside of City College, there are exceptions in the form of materials originating from the State Chancellor and State Board of Governors, and in some files on "people" without an apparent connection to the college.
In general, many archive boxes contain a large amount of paper and can be quite heavy. It is imperative to have help removing heavy boxes from the shelves. Most collections do not have separate finding lists, or aids, and may only be organized by fiat. Research in these collections can be arduous, but rewarding in discovery.
For most historical questions, the many important resources can be linked from the Archives Guide, including college catalogs (linked online 1999 to the present), the Guardsman newspaper (linked online at the Internet Archive 1935-1994), college newsletters (Intercom and Progress, circa 1970-1977 linked in PDF), commencement brochures (linked in PDF) and the agenda and minutes of the Governing Board (linked online 1996 to the present).
The Archives are available to use by appointment during the Library's regular open hours. To schedule an appointment, contact Mauro Garcia mgarcia@ccsf.edu - or ask at the Research Help Desk on the 4th floor of the Rosenberg Library at Ocean Campus.
Below is a list of all the collections included in this archive. Click on the corresponding letter in the alphabetical navigation for more information.